First Nations Sevens set to make national debut

by Rugby Australia

A special milestone will be made this weekend when the First Nations Sevens teams make their national debut at the Western Sydney 7s at Lidcombe Oval.

24 up-and-coming stars from across Australia will compete in front of thousands of fans over two massive days of Rugby.

For most it will be their first time donning a jersey which will no doubt spark plenty of passion and determination.

First Nations Sevens Coach Jarred Hodges said: ‘’This will be the first time the two sides have represented the games’ governing body and with that carries a huge amount of pride.

‘’We have selected two very talented teams who will play fast and instinctive Rugby. Now we will be keeping an eye on those who can execute their skills under pressure. While this is a development program, we are wanting to fast-track several players to the top within the next 12 months so here’s their chance to shine,’’ said Hodges.

The squads were given a taste of what’s to come at their first official training camp at Rugby Australia’s High-Performance Centre last weekend where their skills were put to the test against the Australian Sevens teams.

‘’The camp wasn't just about the Rugby, the squads also attended a careers expo with the Australian Defence Force as well as met the La Perouse Lands Council and Wallabies great Lloyd Walker who took them on an important cultural walk, ‘’ said Hodges.

The Western Sydney 7s kicks off on Saturday at 10:00 am with 14 male and six female teams battling it out for the silverware.

Following this event, the First Nations Sevens squads will head up north to compete at the Hottest 7s tournament in Darwin from November 16-17.

Women’s squad:

Courtney Currie, Taree

Tshinta Kendall, Gold Coast

Lilly-Ann Mason, Forbes

Kobe Nona, Canberra

Jana-Lee Conroy, Brewarrina

Renae Nona, Brisbane

Alahna Ryan, Dubbo

Breanna Raymond, Gold Coast

Leilanie Andrews, Taree

Kazzia Lammon, Brisbane

Hagiga Moseby, Thursday Island

Keisha-Leigh Coolwell, Brisbane

Men’s squad:

Mark O'Dare, Sydney

Dylan McIachlan, Wagga Wagga

Tyson Fuller, Sydney

Denzel Burns, Toowoomba

Bailey Collins, Sydney

Isiah Kawane, Townsville

Hudson Berry, Sydney

Danny Allende, Sydney

Deon Evans-Ao, Penrith

Jordan Remfrey, Sydney

Tyrone Phillips, Sydney

Tareq Parter, Townsville